Two People Killed in Georgia State Route 520 Hit-and-Run Accident
A 24-year-old woman and her four-year-old daughter were killed in a Georgia car accident involving a hit-and-run driver. The Associated Press reports that the fatal accident occurred on Georgia State Route 520 in Dawson. Officials say the mother and daughter were killed in the crash and that a 23-year-old woman survived the accident with unknown injuries. Authorities are still looking for the driver responsible for this fatal hit-and-run accident.
It is against Georgia law to leave the scene of an accident when someone has been injured or killed. According to Georgia Statute 40-6-270: “The driver of any vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or the death of any person or in damage to a vehicle … shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of the accident or shall stop as close thereto as possible and forthwith return to the scene of the accident and shall exchange information, contact the authorities, and offer assistance.”
Hit-and-run victims and their families often struggle with severe financial and emotional burdens. Motorists who fail to remain at the scene of the crash will face criminal prosecution when they are apprehended. Unfortunately, not all Georgia hit-and-run drivers are apprehended. In such cases, the victims and their families may wonder how to seek financial compensation for their medical bills and other related expenses as well as for the loss of life of someone they loved.
Skilled Georgia car accident wrongful death attorneys can help a family understand their legal rights and options following a fatal crash. Often, victims’ families may be able to seek compensation through the uninsured motorist clause of their own auto insurance policies. If you have lost a loved one in a Georgia hit-and-run crash, please call The Law Offices of Wayne Grant, P.C., right away to find out how we can help you.
Contact us today for a free and comprehensive case evaluation.
We require no legal retainer or upfront fees,
and you pay nothing unless we prevail.
Phone: (404) 995-3955
Wrongful Death Day Care Case